Great for afternoon tea!
Great for afternoon tea!

This post is tardy so I’ll keep it quick!

We have been battling a persistent tummy bug and now in the aftermath, feel overall “blech”. To pass the time, we have been laying low with the last season of Mad Men and juggling a fierce & insatiable carb craving. Solution: Apple & zucchini bread.

Whoever thought that calling a cake “bread” was kidding themselves. Banana Bread, Zucchini Bread, Lemon Bread & don’t talk to me about muffins!!!

Banana bread is really CAKE! Zucchini bread is definitely CAKE!! American muffins are really just giant cupCAKES!! Don’t you agree?

So without kidding anybody this is really an apple & zucchini CAKE recipe. Gluten free, and low carb I have lightened it up a bit by adding some buckwheat as I find the pure almond flour/low carb cakes a bit heavy. You can substitute this with millet flour if you like.  The addition of coconut flour adds fibre (and goodness, of course) which helps to lower the GI of the buckwheat, if that is a concern for you. I just like the flavour…

And by all means use all apple if you want – I just love the excuse to get more veges in my diet – peel the zucchini if you want to fool people, because, trust me, they won’t guess a thing!!

3 eggs
110g olive oil or ghee
75g rapadura (I sometimes use Natvia)
15g coconut flour
2 tabs of buckwheat flour (or gluten free flour)
1 teas cinnamon (or cardamom works well too)
60g almond flour
2 teas baking powder
pinch salt
3 apples chopped coarsely
100g zucchini, grated (peeled optional)
 
In the TM add the eggs, oil and sugar and mix on SP 6 for 10 seconds.
Add the dry ingredients and mix for a further 5 – 10 seconds. Add the apple & zucchini and mix on SP 2 REVERSE until just combined. Bake in a  loaf tin at 170ºC for 40 – 45 minutes or until a skewer comes out with just a few crumbs. 
 
I prefer it served cold but it would also be good served warm with ice cream.
 

 

 

2 responses to “Apple & Zucchini Bread – GF, DF,”

  1. Looking forward to trying this, Sarah!

    1. I have frozen it in slices and keep dipping into the freezer – its yummy!

Leave a comment