Chocolate Not So Wheaten


I have said previously that sometimes some good comes from kitchen disasters.

I usually call these “happy mistakes”  – when they happen soon after the disaster – that is!

During my “lost mojo” phase  (I am calling it a phase as I am optimistically waiting for it to pass),  I made some Anzac biscuits to go with my comforting hot chocolate without giving the recipe a glance first. I have made these a billion times, I’m thinking, as I throw in seed after seed, more of this and more of that.

Well, they came together OK; they didn’t spread much; but were much ‘too heavy duty’ according to my husband! I resignedly put them in the fridge for when I was really desperate and made another batch – by the recipe.

I revisited them a few days later desperation prevailed and admitted that nothing would fix them except maybe a coating of chocolate. Everything is better when it’s dipped in chocolate, right?!

Shazaam! They tasted just like a chocolate wheaten, only crunchy!! 

Chocolate Wheatens were on my B list when I was a kid. I have previously mentioned Chocolate Royals being on my A list, not to mention my penchant for squashed fly biscuits and  chocolate mint slice biscuits too. Chocolate wheatens were like the pretend chocolate biscuit; when mum was on a budget and couldn’t afford the real deal.  This was before chocolate montes or chocolate butternut snaps were invented. As I got older, I came to really appreciate the wholesomeness (or wholewheat) of this particular biscuit and loved them.

But it’s been a long time since I bought packet biscuits (apart from the occasional gluten-free macadamia shortbread), and this happy mistake reminded me of those days – even if they are a ‘bit heavy duty’ – they’re a healthier option.

 

90g buckwheat
40g millet or quinoa
2 teas linseeds
60g rapadura or coconut sugar
40g desiccated coconut 
50g sunflower seeds
50g pepitas
1 tab chia seeds
1 tab sesame seeds
30g flaked almonds (optional  – sub 1 tab quinoa flakes if nut free)
120g butter (or coconut oil)
1 tablespoon of honey
1 teas bicarb soda mixed with 1 tablespoon of warm water
100g chocolate, melted with 1 teas oil
 
Mill millet and linseeds on SP 9 for 1 minute and add the buckwheat. Mill again on SP 9 for 30 seconds. Add the flours the rest of the dry ingredients a large bowl.
Melt the butter and honey on SP 3 for 1 minute at 80°C. Add the bicarb and water and  mix for a few seconds to combine. Add and stir through the dry ingredients. If the mix is a little dry, add a little water, teaspoon at a time, you don’t want it too wet that it falls apart when forming balls.
 
Roll into walnut sized balls and flatten on tray. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes at 160ºC until golden. They will crisp up when they cool.
 
When cool, dip the underside in chocolate and refrigerate to set.
 
 

 

6 responses to “Chocolate Not So Wheaten”

  1. Alexandra Edwardes

    Hi
    Is it raw buckwheat and Millet?
    thanks

  2. Wow! They look and sound scrumptious! Not home at the moment, but give me a week, and I’ll be hitting the kitchen…big time!

  3. crescentmoonramblings

    Sarah, I am looking forward to making these. Were the squashed fly biscuits the little pillows with fruit mince inside?

Leave a comment