Pumpkin & Nutmeg Pudding Slice with Sweet Sunflower Cream


Nutmeg and honey pair beautifully with pumpkin in this slice
Nutmeg and honey pair beautifully with pumpkin in this slice

“Please can we have more nut free recipes?” I have been asked… Sure!.

I think that most paleo treat recipes are too heavy on the nuts anyway – and this makes nuts too easy to overeat! I’m so lucky that I don’t have a nut allergy as I loooove them and they are so nutrient dense. But there are many who cannot have nuts so this recipe is for you!

This is a very moist but light pudding cake which would probably be suited as a winter dish but seeing as it’s just become Autumn and I had roasted pumpkin in the fridge and I wanted to do something nut-free, you got this recipe today!!!

1/2 a whole nutmeg, grated
200g roasted pumpkin*
130g butter or ghee
60g coconut flour
90g sugar (I used natvia)
30g honey
5 eggs
1 tab tapioca flour
3 teas baking powder mixed in 100g water
1 teas apple cider vinegar

Blend all of the ingredients on SP 6 for 15 seconds until smooth. Spread in a 7 x 11 inch lined tray and bake for 30 minutes at 160C. Serve hot with ice-cream as a winter dessert or cold with my sweet sunflower cream.

Sweet Sunflower Cream

40g sunflower seeds (or use cashews, if you can have nuts)
1 tab rapadura
1 tab honey or more to taste
juice of 1/2 lime
60g hot water
100g butter
 
Add all of the ingredients into the TM and blend on SP 8 for 1 minute at 50C. Scrape down and continue for a further 30 seconds to get a silky smooth sauce which will thicken on standing and firm up in the fridge.
 
Serve on pudding or with any cake or pancakes…
 
* You really need roasted pumpkin for this recipe, NOT steamed as it needs to be quite dry.

Leave a comment